The Union County Commission met in Special Called Meeting at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, June 9, 2025 at the Union County Courthouse. The Honorable Jason Bailey, County Chairman Presiding. A quorum being present, Union County Commission was duly opened at 7:00 P.M.

The Agenda for June 9, 2025 is as follows:

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Invocation
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Roll Call
- 5. Announcements: (if any)
- 6. Approve List for Public Comments
- 7. Public Comments
- 8. Approve/Disapprove FY 2026 Budget and Budget Related Documents
- 9. Adjourn
- 1. County Commission was duly opened by Union County Deputy Martin Nicley.
- 2. **Invocation** by Commissioner Greg Dyer.
- 3. **Pledge of Allegiance** was led by Commissioner Linda Effler.
- 4. **Roll Call** by Amy England, Union County Chief Deputy Clerk. **Commissioners Present:** Lynn Beeler, Mike Boles, Angela Conner-Murphy, Danny Cooke, Bill Cox,
 Greg Dyer, Linda Effler, Dawn Flatford, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Larry Lay,
 Ashley Mike, Kenny Moore, Gerald Simmons, Eddie Simpson and Cheryl Walker.

Commissioners Absent: None.

5. Announcements

There were no **Announcements** made in open meeting on June 9, 2025.

6. **Approve List for Public Comments**

There were no requests for **Public Comments** in open meeting on June 9, 2025.

7. **Public Comments**

There were no **Public Comments** made in open meeting on June 9, 2025.

8. Approve/Disapprove FY 2026 Budget And Budget Related Documents

Motion #1

A **Motion** was made by **Dawn Flatford** and **Seconded** by **Larry Lay** to contribute \$20,000 to the Union County Humane Society for FY 2026.

County Chairman Jason Bailey Called for a Roll Call Vote. Commissioners Voting For: Lynn Beeler, Angela Conner-Murphy, Danny Cooke, Bill Cox, Greg Dyer, Linda Effler, Dawn Flatford, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Larry Lay, Gerald Simmons and Eddie Simpson. Commissioners Voting Against: Mike Boles, Ashley Mike, Kenny Moore and Cheryl Walker. Commissioners Passing: None. Motion Carried.

Motion #2

A **Motion** was made by **Sidney Jessee, Jr.** and **Seconded** by **Danny Cooke** to zero out 101-54610 County Coroner and to use the \$25,000 from that line item to balance the budget and any remaining money to be put in fund balance and to request that the payment of autopsies be brought before the opioid abatement committee.

County Chairman Jason Bailey Called for a Roll Call Vote. **Commissioners Voting For:** Lynn Beeler, Mike Boles, Angela Conner-Murphy, Danny Cooke, Bill Cox, Greg Dyer, Linda Effler, Dawn Flatford, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Larry Lay, Gerald Simmons and Eddie Simpson. **Commissioners Voting Against:** Ashley Mike, Kenny Moore and Cheryl Walker. **Commissioners Passing:** None. **Motion Carried.**

Motion #3

A **Motion** was made by **Gerald Simmons** and **Seconded** by **Bill Cox** to approve the FY 2026 Budget as presented with the \$20,000 contribution to the Humane Society and zeroing out of the 101-54610 County Coroner line items to balance the budget.

County Chairman Jason Bailey Called for a Roll Call Vote. **Commissioners Voting For:** Lynn Beeler, Danny Cooke, Bill Cox, Linda Effler, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones and Gerald Simmons. **Commissioners Voting Against:** Mike Boles, Angela Conner-Murphy, Greg Dyer, Dawn Flatford, Larry Lay, Ashley Mike, Kenny Moore, Eddie Simpson and Cheryl Walker. **Commissioners Passing:** None. **Motion Failed.**

Motion #4

A **Motion** was made by **Kenny Moore** and **Seconded** by **Cheryl Walker** to approve the FY 2026 Budget as presented, giving the Union County Humane Society \$20,001 and zeroing out of the 101-54610 County Corner line items to balance the budget.

County Chairman Jason Bailey Called for a Roll Call Vote. **Commissioners Voting For:** Lynn Beeler, Danny Cooke, Bill Cox, Linda Effler, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Kenny Moore, Gerald Simmons and Cheryl Walker. **Commissioners Voting Against:** Mike Boles, Angela Conner-Murphy, Greg Dyer, Dawn Flatford, Larry Lay, Ashley Mike and Eddie Simpson. **Commissioners Passing:** None. **Motion Carried.**

9. Adjourn

A Motion was made by Sidney Jessee, Jr. and Seconded by Eddie Simpson to Adjourn.

County Chairman Jason Bailey Called for a Roll Call Vote. **Commissioners Voting For:** Lynn Beeler, Mike Boles, Angela Conner-Murphy, Danny Cooke, Bill Cox, Greg Dyer, Linda Effler, Dawn Flatford, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Larry Lay, Ashley Mike, Kenny Moore, Gerald Simmons, Eddie Simpson and Cheryl Walker. **Commissioners Voting Against:** None. **Commissioners Passing:** None. **Motion Carried.**

Union County Commission Special Called Meeting Adjourned at 8:30 P.M.