The Union County Commission met in Special Called Meeting at 7:00 P.M. on Thursday, July 7, 2022 at the Union County Courthouse. The Honorable Gary England, County Vice-Chairman, Presiding. A quorum being present, Union County Commission was duly opened at 7:00 P.M.

The Agenda for July 7, 2022 is as follows:

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Invocation
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Roll Call
- 5. Adopt the FY23 Tax Rate for Union County and Any Related Matters
- 6. Adjourn
- 1. County Commission was duly opened by Sheriff William F. Breeding, II.
- 2. Invocation by Commissioner Sidney Jessee, Jr.
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Becky Munsey.
- 4. Roll Call by Pam Ailor, Union County Clerk. **Commissioners Present:** Jeffrey Brantley, Bill Cox, Earl Cox, Gary England, Dawn Flatford, Kenny Hill, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Debra Keck, Larry Lay, Becky Munsey and Cheryl Walker.

**Commissioners Absent:** Jeffrey Chesney, Danny Cooke, Janet Holloway and Joyce Meltabarger.

## 5. Adopt the FY23 Tax Rate for Union County and Any Related Matters

## RESOLUTION # 01 07-07-2022

## BEFORE THE COUNTY LEGISLATIVE BODY FOR UNION COUNTY, TENNESSEE

## RESOLUTION FIXING THE TAX LEVY IN UNION COUNTY

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2022

SECTION 1. BE IT RESOLVED, by the county legislative body of Union County, Tennessee, assembled on this 7th day of July 2022 that the combined property tax rate for Union County, Tennessee for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2022, shall be \$1.5899 on each \$100.00 of taxable property, which is to provide revenue for each of the following funds and otherwise conform to the following levies:

Fund	Rate
General	0.7263
Ambulance	0.0989
Highway/Public Works	0.0743
General Purpose School	0.5272
General Debt Service	0.0448
Capital Projects	0.1184
Total	1.5899

**SECTION 2. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that all resolutions of the county legislative body of Union County, Tennessee, which are in conflict with this resolution are hereby repealed

**SECTION 3. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that this Resolution take effect from and after its passage, the public welfare requiring it. This resolution shall be spread upon the minutes of the county legislative body.

Motion by Larry Lay	Seconded by R.L. Jones	
Those voting in the affirmative:		
Bill Cox, Earl Cox, Gary England, Kenny Hill, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Larry Lay,		
Becky Munsey and Cheryl Walker		
Those voting no:		
Jeffrey Brantley, Dawn Flatford and Debra Keck		
Those passing:		
None		
<b>*</b>		
Passed this 7th day of July, 2022 ATTEST:		
Pan alor gold	UNION WALL SUR	
	COUNTY TENNESSEE	
MAN COUNTY COMMITTEE		

A **Motion** was made by **Larry Lay** and **Seconded** by **R.L. Jones** to set the Tax Levy for FY 23 at 1.5899.

County Vice-Chairman Gary England Called for a Roll Call Vote. **Commissioners Voting For:** Bill Cox, Earl Cox, Gary England, Kenny Hill, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Larry Lay, Becky Munsey and Cheryl Walker. **Commissioners Voting Against:** Jeffrey Brantley, Dawn Flatford and Debra Keck. **Commissioners Passing:** None. **Motion Carried.** 

A **Motion** was made by **Earl Cox** to Reconsider the Tax Levy Vote. **Motion** died for lack of a **Second.** 

6. A Motion was made by Larry Lay and Seconded by Sidney Jessee, Jr. to Adjourn.

County Vice-Chairman Gary England Called for a Roll Call Vote. **Commissioners Voting For:** Jeffrey Brantley, Bill Cox, Earl Cox, Gary England, Dawn Flatford, Kenny Hill, Sidney Jessee, Jr., R.L. Jones, Debra Keck, Larry Lay, Becky Munsey and Cheryl Walker. **Commissioners Voting Against:** None. **Commissioners Passing:** None. **Motion Carried.**